Hurricane Prep

Just a quick show and tell about preparing for the hurricane this last weekend. We went around and collected anything in the yard that might blow around.

I was worried about 2 things: the chickens’ coop door blowing open (has happened before) and the hive tops blowing off. Though I was pretty sure our bees had propolized the tops down very securely, I wanted to make sure. Steve very kindly had strapped the hives down for me. He used ratcheting straps on each hive.

I bought some locks to keep the chicken doors closed:

Both locks are now wind-proof.

 

The beehives weathered the storm admirably thanks to Steve:

I anticipated a few days of no foraging so I filled their feeders Thursday or Friday before the storm. But they were out flying (not in droves) Sunday afternoon despite the crazy wind.

Leave a Reply

