Semi-Farm Update

I like to call our space a farmette, but all I have are bees, chickens and a large (large for us) veggie/fruit garden. I think I need goats at least, or a milking cow to call it a farmette. Just some other farm animal other than chickens, I wonder what the code would allow?

I’ve been into the bees several times but have not had the camera with me to take pictures, suffice it to say Melissa has lots of workers, lots of drones, and built out 3 frames of foundationless frames in ONE WEEK!! I added a deep on top of the bottom deep to hopefully keep them in two deeps. They had most of a medium full of drone brood and I moved that into the deep (interspersed with deep frames) and moved frames into the top medium for them to use for honey storage.

Demeter is doing better and better, they finally finished a quart of syrup (took them almost a month! Tells you how few bees were in there). I plan to keep feeding them and will not be harvesting honey from them obviously.

I’ll be checking on them again this weekend and I’ll take pictures; cross my fingers there won’t be swarm prep in Melissa…

Onto the garden! Everything is growing so nicely right now, the temps have been perfect spring numbers which we rarely see in Maryland! The bloom times are OFF though! My blueberries are blooming now which is WAY early, my strawberries have flowers and we normally don’t have strawberries ready for picking until after Memorial Day (end of May). Some of those flowers are already pollinated and I can see tiny strawberries starting!!

Lots of blueberries!
Lots of blueberries!

Unopened blueberry flowers. I wish I had done a better job of keeping the plant labels!
Unopened blueberry flowers. I wish I had done a better job of keeping the plant labels!
You can see the strawberry starting...
You can see the strawberry starting…
I have 3 of these tiered beds, allows 25 mother plants and room for daughters. The bottom tier is 4'x4', the top is 2'x2'.
I have 3 of these, allows 25 mother plants and room for daughters. The bottom tier is 4’x4′, the top is 2’x2′.
I planted these Mara des Bois strawberries last year but they did not do well, I think I smothered them with straw in my effort to protect them from the cold. One week after planting the new batch, they already look better than the ones last year. I'm keeping my fingers crossed because the one plant that survived last year gave berries that tasted like strawberry heaven!!
I planted these Mara des Bois strawberries last year but they did not do well, I think I smothered them with straw in my effort to protect them from the cold. One week after planting the new batch, they already look better than the ones last year. I’m keeping my fingers crossed because the one plant that survived last year gave berries that tasted like strawberry heaven!!

Garlic:

Planted last October and will be harvested this summer.
Planted last October and will be harvested this summer.

Asparagus:

They grow faster than weeds, let them go one day without checking for spears and you'll come back to 14" monsters that are too big. Crazy.
They grow faster than weeds, let them go one day without checking for spears and you’ll come back to 14″ monsters that are too big. Crazy.

Lettuces:

Started under our portable hoop house, they've been exposed for over 2 weeks now.
Started under our portable hoop house, they’ve been exposed for over 2 weeks now.

Purple mizuna:

Asian green
Asian green

Pac Choy:

Another Asian green
Another Asian green

More lettuce:

That large one on the top right survived the winter as an itty bitty thing and kept growing even in the cold.
That large one on the top right survived the winter as an itty bitty thing and kept growing even in the cold.

Happy spring everyone!
I’ll update with bee news after my inspection this weekend.

One comment

Leave a Reply

