New queen, no queen?

Goodness, these bees sure do keep me on my toes! Went into the hives on Monday May 27th, I hadn’t been in for a couple of weeks, the last time I was in Demeter I saw supercedure cells. Remember, click on the pictures to enlarge them for a closer look!

Supercedure cell to replace a queen
Supercedure cell to replace a queen

And another. I saw three at least, maybe more, I don't cut them off.
And another. I saw three at least, maybe more, I don’t cut them off.
Cell of emerged queen?
Cell of emerged queen?
Same thing on the top cell? But it looks too short. As for the bottom cell, it looks like it's been ripped open.
Same thing on the top cell? But it looks too short. As for the bottom cell, it looks like it’s been ripped open.
Do we think this is a capped queen cell? Look at the next picture.
Do we think this is a capped queen cell? Look at the next picture.
See the side? It's actually just filled with more cells, it does NOT appear to be a queen cell.
See the side? It’s actually just filled with more cells, it does NOT appear to be a queen cell.

So far, no queen and no eggs in Demeter. I’ll check next weekend.

5 comments

  1. When I enlarge your 2nd photo (And another. I saw three at least, maybe more, I don’t cut them off.), I see whatI would ID as eggs!
    PS – nice to see you blogging again. 🙂

  2. The last queen cell – or not queen cell – is curious. It would be unusual for them to waste wax for no reason, so I am still inclined to think that there’s something inside. Let us know! I tried to spot the eggs in your second pic like Larry did, but could only see pollen and honey. Maybe I’m not looking in the right place.

Leave a Reply

