Wax foundation

As you may know, I use wax foundation in my brood chambers. When you install wax, you can either use imbedded wire or support pins to support the brood foundation:

These slide into the holes along the side bars and hold the wax foundation in place.

These slide into the holes along the side bars and hold the wax foundation in place.

I had heard about using bobby pins instead and gave it a try:

Bobby pins

Bobby pins

A bit blurry but you get the idea.

A bit blurry but you get the idea.

Labeled frames, so I know what I'm using!

Labeled frames, so I know what I’m using!

4 thoughts on “Wax foundation

  1. Cool idea! Ok, stupid newbie question, but what does the 4.9 mm indicate? I’ve heard of labeling frames with the year you started using them so you know the age. And marking the direction it faces. But I thought all frames were the same size? Or is that the width of the foundation?

    • The 4.9mm refers to the cell size, I’m regressing my bees to 4.9mm also known as small cell. I put them on the transitional 5.1mm at first and am now moving them to 4.9mm, there is a lot of info if you google it.

      • I had no idea you could get foundation with different cell sizes. Wow, so much to learn. I’ll definitely look that up. thanks!

Leave a Reply

