Successful supercedure!

New purple queen! Oh my goodness, my eyes were NOT deceiving me! Two weeks ago, I thought they were queenless and asked Connie for a frame of eggs. I decided to wait a week and see of they were really queenless. Just another week and look!
Remember to click on the pictures to make them bigger and see the details better.

Capped worker brood!

Capped worker brood! At least 2-3 frames of capped brood and another of open brood.

I thought I saw eggs and larvae last week but the sun wasn’t angled right for me to be SURE, until now. Man, what a relief. Not only is the genetics of the hive preserved, the hive is now queenright. The old queen was a 2011 queen and to show the age of the current reigning monarch, I was planning to mark her.

I found these at Walmart:

I used the bright blue one to mark her.

I used the bright blue one to mark her.

I tried using the press-in cage to mark her but that was NOT successful. I used the queen catcher to move her into a marking cage:

Queen in marking cage.

Queen in marking cage.

Marked queen. I added a little white dot to make her a little easier to spot :)

Marked queen. I added a little white dot to make her a little easier to spot 🙂

See her?

See her?

When using the press-in cage, I inadvertently marked other bees too.

When using the press-in cage, I inadvertently marked other bees too.

I tried to put the queen marking cage in between the frames and the cage was so mobbed with bees that she doesn’t appear to have room to leave:

You can feel the energy of these bees surrounding the queen.

You can feel the energy of these bees surrounding the queen, I love this picture.

I shook her into the bottom deep and left them alone. I plan to start feeding them at the end of June/beginning of July to get them ready for winter. I hope to be able to harvest from two hives next year, I have some serious honey demands to meet.

3 thoughts on “Successful supercedure!

Leave a Reply

