Building a nuc

I had planned for some time to build a nuc box and finally got around to it this weekend: I figured with all 4 hives surviving the winter and 3/4 doing really well, I needed to get cracking! So I took a deep hive body and my husband used the router to carve a groove in the middle, we used a thin board as the divider. This design makes 2, 5-frame nucs.

The router was used to make th groove, you can see the depth needs to be adjusted to avoid the thin area left by the handle hold.

The router was used to make the groove, you can see the depth needs to be adjusted to avoid the thin area left by the handlehold.

The screened bottom board also needed to have a groove.

The screened bottom board also needed to have a groove.

The divider with wood piece glued along the edges to cover the small holes in the handlehold.

The divider with wood pieces glued along the edges to cover the small holes in the handlehold.

My 2, 5-frame nuc box.

My 2, 5-frame nuc box. I’m going to make entrance reducers that have openings on either end.

Screened inner cover to allow me to just place a mason jar feeder over the screen. The divider board abuts the screen to prevent the bees from co-mingling.

Screened inner cover to allow feeding via mason jars by just placing over the screen. The divider board abuts the screen to prevent the bees from co-mingling.

It will be painted with a hodge-podge of the colors I have and used to stave off a swarm. I’ve been fascinated with the Taranov method of swarm control and will try to use it!

I actually have hive updates and pictures but need more time to put it together. Hope everyone’s bees did well over the winter (I know a few folks who lost theirs). Wishing for myself and my fellow beekeepers a honey-filled and successful bee season!

2 thoughts on “Building a nuc

  1. Wonderful information and excellent photos! Thank you, I am really overdue on making a thorough inspection. The weather and work schedule have not cooperated. I’m inspired to jump back in and see what we have. I know they survived, the overall health of the hive is what I need to determine.
    In my defense, it snowed a week ago…

Leave a Reply

