Foraging for berries

Going out to our backyard and “foraging” for berries and veggies is a favorite activity of ours. But guess who’s been joining us?

A week or so ago I saw yellow jackets on the blueberries splitting a few open and enjoying the contents of the berries. I happened to spot a honey bee working on the pulp of an already open berry. Figured it was a “sweet-fluke”.

I just went out to take a quick peek at the blueberries and saw quite a few little things flying about and worried they were wasps. As I got closer I was stunned to see honey bees! A few dozen working on the pulp of split blueberries. Sweet is sweet I guess. We need that goldenrod to start blooming now!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

