Winter update

Just a quick update on the hive situation, no pictures though as we’re moving stuff to a new computer. I went into the winter with 4 hives, 3 of them are 2 deeps and one is 3 deeps (result of a combine after the large hive went queen less). All 4 still have bees in them, the 3 deep hive is INSANE with activity compared to the others. We have had quite a few very windy, cold and wet days. After particular bad stretches of weather, I check on them by putting my ear against the bodies and listening to them; to gauge their strength I’ll rap on the wood and that certainly riles them up. So far I think the orange hive appears to be the weakest in terms of “buzzing”. I’ve had sugar water out for community feeding when the days are warm. They (and other hives I bet) have taken in 3 and 1/2 quart jars. I plan to go in on Saturday and provide sugar patties (ready in the freezer) as well.

Wishing all of you a happy and healthy New Year for you and your bees! Merry Christmas!

2 comments

  1. That’s a good tip rapping on the wood, I think this would rile up at least one of our hives. Our bees have been active almost all autumn and winter. It will be interesting to see what they make when spring comes. Best wishes to you and your bees in the season ahead.

Leave a Reply

